Sorry, this content is not currently available in the mobile view. Switch back to desktop view to access this page.

Reykjavik City

Sundlaugavegur 34, Reykjavík, Iceland

See us on a map

Overall Rating 86%

From 160 Reviews

Hostel rating (160)

Rating category Satisfaction percentage
Staff 90%
Cleanliness 83%
Location 79%
Security 89%
Service 89%
Comfort 85%
Green rating 91%

City Hostel is the original hostel in Reykjavik, right in the heart of Laugardalur Park, next door to Iceland´s largest Geothermal Pool.

  • Dorm
    From $33.20
  • Private
    From $95.26
10 or more people?
reykjavik-city

Reykjavík Hostel

Hostel Reykjavík

Hostelling International

Welcome to our hostel

City Hostel is in the heart of Laugardalur Park, next door to Iceland´s largest Geothermal Pool. It’s a 30 minute walk to the city centre along the scenic Reykjavík coastline, or 10 minutes by bike or bus.

The hostel offers 4 to 6 bedded rooms with private and shared bathrooms, and comfortable double/twin rooms with private bathrooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, treat yourself to a drink at the coffee bar and make use of three fully equipped kitchens, lounges and laundry facilities. The breakfast buffet also makes for a good start to the day.

The team is happy to help you get around this amazing city and recommend excursions including the Northern Lights, The Blue Lagoon and glacier tours on the best rates.

Prices

Prices are members' prices

Dorms - Per guest per night

Beds

Private - Per room per night

Rooms

Important info

  • Government-issued photo ID is required to check in.
  • Unaccompanied children under the age of 18 can be accommodated only with a letter from a parent or legal guardian providing permission for the child's unsupervised stay.
  • Children under the age of 8 are unable to be accommodated in shared dormitories
  • Children under the age of 4 stay free.
  • Children under the age of 13 qualify for a discount on the advertised price at check-in.
  • Membership can be purchased on arrival at hostel.
  • Rates quoted assume guests are members of Hostelling International or a National Youth Hostel Association.
  • A non-member supplement of ISK 700 - 1400 per person per night is payable on arrival at hostel.
  • Pets are not permitted in the hostel.
  • Prices and product availability is as accurate as possible but may be subject to change during checkout

Facilities

Facilities

Leisure & Fitness

  • Common room
  • Games room
  • Garden
  • TV room
  • Table tennis / ping pong
  • Terrace / patio

Accessibility

  • Suitable for wheelchair users

Food & Drink

  • BBQ
  • Self-catering kitchen
  • Vending machine

Facilities - Internet Access

  • Computers - Free
  • Wifi - Free

Facilities - In-Hostel Services

  • Car Parking at Hostel - Free
  • Booking Centre for HI hostels worldwide
  • Conference Facilities
  • Cycle Rental
  • Cycle Storage
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Library / Book Swap
  • Lockers Available - In Room
  • Luggage Room - Available during hostel reception times
  • Smoking Area
  • Sports Equipment Storage - Skis
  • Travel / Tour Desk
Opening times

Opening times

Open all year

Reception:
From 06:30 to 01:00
Check-in:
Open 24 hours

Get in touch

Get in touch

Main attractions

Main attractions

  • Laugardalslaug (Swimming pool) (At or next to the hostel)
  • Laugardalur park (At or next to the hostel)
  • Reykjavik coastline (Less than 500 m)

See the full list of attractions

Reviews

Reviews

The room was very dirty. The floor needed to be vacuumed and washed. And the private bathroom also needed to be cleaned

73%

Avatar for Maria Elisabeth

Maria Elisabeth,

Fri 08 Dec 2017

Hi there, I'm very sorry to hear that. I do wish you had brought this to the attention of the reception when you were here so we could have looked into the matter and fixed it. I will review with the staff to see what can be done better. Best regards, Erla & the City Hostel team

Manager avatar

Erla Dóra Gísladóttir, Reception Manager, Reykjavik City hostel

Sun 10 Dec 2017

This is a basic hostel but it was enough for our needs. Some of the staff were nice, but there was one guy at the front desk that was "robot-like", not at all friendly. We stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of our Iceland trip. For some reason, while we payed the same for both nights, on the first we had towels included and in the second not. On the first night the room was cold (heating was not turned on) and in the morning it smelled like sewage! The guest kitchen needs cleaning.

80%

Avatar for Filipa

Filipa,

Fri 08 Dec 2017

Hello! Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry that there were no towels in your room on your second arrival. But I'm sure you got your towels when you told the reception they were missing, right? We do try to conserve energy and have the radiators on low when rooms are not in use. It's so great here in Iceland because it only takes a few minutes for it to warm up when you turn the radiator up and we are helping the planet. I will put forward your note about the guest kitchen, so we can keep an extra good eye on it :) best regards! Erla & the hostel team

Manager avatar

Erla Dóra Gísladóttir, Reception Manager, Reykjavik City hostel

Sun 10 Dec 2017

Overall, I like my stay in Reykjavik, even though it was only for a night. However, Heida, the reception staff was very helpful and friendly. She also very enthusiast in the morning, although she was doing night shift :) Thank you Heida. And overall, the stay was amazing with all the environmentally friendly concept. However, it will be more pleasant if the information about the city plan and transportation clearer.

100%

Avatar for Tasya

Tasya,

Fri 08 Dec 2017

Hi there! Aww that's so lovely to hear. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to Heiða. I'll note down your idea for the transportation options, so we can look into what we can to in this area :) Welcome back anytime! Erla & the Hostel Team

Manager avatar

Erla Dóra Gísladóttir, Reception Manager, Reykjavik City hostel

Sun 10 Dec 2017

A wonderful stay in a very friendly hostel!

100%

Avatar for Paulette

Paulette,

Mon 04 Dec 2017

Chambre confortable. Salle de bain privée : très bien. Propreté nickel. A améliorer : la propreté et la tenue des cuisines partagées. Torchons et éponges sales. Frigo et micro ondes à nettoyer. La "free food" a besoin d'être triée.

80%

Avatar for Laure

Laure,

Sat 02 Dec 2017

Hi there ! Thank you for your excellent suggestions. I will review them with the team :) best regards, Erla & the Hostel Team

Manager avatar

Erla Dóra Gísladóttir, Reception Manager, Reykjavik City hostel

Mon 04 Dec 2017

Location

Location
Around the hostel

Around the hostel

Nearby attractions

  • Amusement / Theme park (Less than 500m)
  • Beach (3 to 5km)
  • Cinema (Less than 500m)
  • City Centre (3 to 5km)
  • Cycle trails (At or next to the hostel)
  • Golf course (5 to 10km)
  • Gym (At or next to the hostel)
  • Hiking / Walking trails (At or next to the hostel)
  • Local market (Less than 500m)
  • Mountainous Area (More than 10km)
  • Museums / Art Galleries (1 to 2km)
  • National / State Park (More than 10km)
  • Nightlife (3 to 5km)
  • Parks / Green Area (At or next to the hostel)
  • Restaurants (At or next to the hostel)
  • River / Harbour / Lake (1 to 2km)
  • Shopping area / Mall (2 to 3km)
  • Ski area (More than 10km)
  • Swimming pool (At or next to the hostel)
  • Supermarket / Food store (Less than 500m)
  • Theatre (3 to 5km)
  • UNESCO World Heritage Site (More than 10km)
  • Water park (At or next to the hostel)
  • Wooded Area (3 to 5km)
Getting to us

Getting to us

Airport
Keflavík: FlyBus/Airport Express drop offs to hostel. Reykjavík: Bus #15 - Hlemmur then bus #14 - Laugarásvegur.
Bus
Bus no. 14 to the city centre and bus centre station in approx. 10 mins.
Car
Ample free parking at hostel for cars motorbikes and buses.

Sustainability initiatives

Air

  • Low carbon activities
  • Public transportation is promoted
  • Environmental cleaning

Energy

  • Energy saving lights
  • Insulation and ventilation systems
  • Light/energy sensor control
  • Renewable energy
  • Energy efficiency appliances

People

  • Educational programs

Waste

  • Recycling areas
  • Composting
  • Fairtrade food served
  • Organic food served
  • Local and seasonal food

Water

  • Water savers in showers
  • Water savers in taps
  • Water savers in toilet

Sustainability labels

Other hostels nearby...

Recently Viewed

Reykjavik City