Sorry, this content is not currently available in the mobile view. Switch back to desktop view to access this page.

YHA Queenstown Central

48A Shotover St, (formerly Mc Fees), Queenstown, New Zealand

See us on a map

Located between the lakefront and Shotover St, we are right in the rapidly beating heart of Queenstown.

  • Dorm
    From $20.48
  • Private
    From $74.15
10 or more people?

Queenstown Hostel

Hostel Queenstown

Hostelling International

Welcome to our hostel

Nestled between the lakefront and Shotover St, YHA Queenstown Central is right in the rapidly beating heart of this stunning resort town. The hostel is close to all pick up points for activities with bars, clubs, cafes and restaurants just a stone’s throw away.

All rooms include en-suites, TVs and some have their own private courtyard. The views from the comfortable upstairs lounge make for a most picturesque chill-out zone. The staff are super-friendly and clued up about getting you the best possible deals on activities in Queenstown, which they’re happy to book for free on your behalf. There is 24h Internet access.

Guests can take part in activities like: rafting, river surfing, combo trips, scenic tours, wine tours, horse riding, paragliding, jet boating, Milford Sound trips, Mt Aspiring flights and so much more in New Zealand!


Prices are non-member prices

Dorms - Per guest per night


Private - Per room per night


Important info

  • If a cancellation is made within 3 days of arrival time for a booking of 1 night you will be charged for 1 night.
  • If a cancellation is made within 3 days of arrival time for a booking of 2 nights you will be charged for 2 nights.
  • If a cancellation is made within 3 days of arrival time for a booking of 3 or more nights you will be charged for 3 nights.
  • 24-hour check-in is not available
  • Government-issued photo ID is required to check in.
  • Children under the age of 17 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
  • Membership can be purchased on arrival at hostel.
  • Rates quoted assume guests are not members of Hostelling International or a National Youth Hostel Association
  • A discount of 10 % of rates quoted is available to members on arrival.
  • Pets are not permitted in the hostel.
  • Prices and product availability is as accurate as possible but may be subject to change during checkout



Leisure & Fitness

  • Common room
  • TV room


  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Food & Drink

  • Self-catering kitchen

Facilities - Internet Access

  • Computers
  • Computer Charges - Charges Apply
  • Wifi
  • WIFI Charges - Charges Apply
  • Internet Cafe Nearby
  • Internet Cafe Distance - Less than 500 m

Facilities - In-Hostel Services

  • Basic Shop
  • Car parking nearby
  • Booking Centre for HI hostels worldwide
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Library / Book Swap
  • Lockers Available
  • Luggage Room
  • Luggage Room Availability - Available during hostel reception times
  • Travel / Tour Desk
Opening times

Opening times

Open all year

From 07:00 to 22:00
From 14:00 to 22:00

Get in touch

Get in touch

Tel. +64-3-442 7400

Fax. +64-3-442 7403

Main attractions

Main attractions

  • Lake Wakatipu with myriad boating activities (Less than 500m)
  • Skyline Gondola Restaurant and Luge (500m to 1km)
  • AJ Hackett Bungy (500m to 1km)

See the full list of attractions



Good​location can.see excellence.View.from.dining room


Avatar for Worawan


Sat 02 Nov 2019

Great hostel in a fantastic location. Unfortunately cleanliness was a huge let down. All 3 kettles we were supplied were dirty and filled with water (FYI a tbsp of citric acid and half water on boil will remove this! There is NO EXCUSE for the kettles to be in that state!) The carpet on the walls was also a dust trap that set off mine and my kids hay fever. Also disappointed that our towels kept getting cleaned, even tho we hadn’t used them. Maybe adopt the usual hotel standard that is only cleaning towels left on the floor? The self serve kitchen was well stocked and very clean, amazing views over the lakes! We had no issue with noise from either other guests or surrounding nightlife. 24 hr mini mart just downstairs was super convenient as too the vast amount of places to eat and drink just meters away. The staff here are friendly and super helpful with arranging us to change rooms mid stay for to our reaction to the dust. Unfortunately the new room didn’t help much but was nice to have the balcony to air out the room a bit. Our first room had a loose light fitting hanging off the wall and we found 3 dirty socks just under the bed (my 4 yo pulled them out). Water temperature takes waaaayyyy to long to heat up causing lots of wasted water. Pressure is less then desirable. Our second room had a dirty toilet brush which when accidentally knocked over sent putrid dirty water with I don’t even want to know what the chunks were, spilling all over the floor. Beds in both rooms were extremely soft and sagging. I think a cosmetic update could do this place a huge favour. Also some training for housekeeping, even though this is a backpackers, there is still a level of cleanliness expected.


Avatar for Lauren


Sun 06 Oct 2019

Enjoyed it. Not as quiet as the lakeside, but still much quieter than other hostels downtown.


Avatar for Carol


Fri 15 Dec 2017

Really enjoyed my stay here. Located in the heart of Queenstown, you're a 5 minute walk from practically anywhere. liked how the other local YHA hostel and this hostel can hold you're luggage while you travel around Fiordland for you're return stay,


Avatar for Alasdair


Sat 17 Dec 2016

During my two week holiday, I stayed in four hostels in total (2 in NZ and 2 in Australia). Queenstown is unfortunately on the bottom of my list. It is a very old building with limited space. Not really a good hostel for socializing. I didn't like the fact that bathrooms are inside the rooms, I often had to queue. But the biggest inconvenience: NO LOCKERS, this made me feel really uncomfortable. However, not everything was bad, the location is incredibly convenient.


Avatar for Gustavo


Tue 06 Sep 2016

Hi Gustavo Thank you for your comment. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not what you were hoping for. Our building is older but we are upgrading our bathrooms over time. We are a quieter, more mellow hostel, however this is offset by our amazing location - all the bars and restaurants are just minutes away! In the future, please feel free to ask our friendly staff if you have any issues - we have lockers on the second floor and they would have been happy to to point you in the right direction!

Manager avatar

YHA Queenstown Central,

Thu 08 Sep 2016


Around the hostel

Around the hostel

Nearby attractions

  • Beach (Less than 500m)
  • Cinema (Less than 500m)
  • City Centre (At or next to the hostel)
  • Cycle trails (Less than 500m)
  • Golf course (5 to 10km)
  • Gym (Less than 500m)
  • Hiking / Walking trails (Less than 500m)
  • Local market (Less than 500m)
  • Mountainous Area (Less than 500m)
  • Museums / Art Galleries (Less than 500m)
  • National / State Park (More than 10km)
  • Nightlife (Less than 500m)
  • Parks / Green Area (Less than 500m)
  • Restaurants (Less than 500m)
  • River / Harbour / Lake (Less than 500m)
  • Shopping area / Mall (Less than 500m)
  • Ski area (5 to 10km)
  • Swimming pool (5 to 10km)
  • Supermarket / Food store (Less than 500m)
  • Theatre (Less than 500m)
  • UNESCO World Heritage Site (More than 10km)
  • Wooded Area (500m - 1km)
Getting to us

Getting to us

Queenstown airport 9km from town centre. Local bus drops off 5 minutes walk away from hostel (approx $5)
Booked buses drop off at hostel or close by
No parking available onsite. Secure carpark 2 minute walk away

Sustainability initiatives


  • Low carbon activities
  • Public transportation is promoted
  • Environmental cleaning


  • Energy saving lights
  • Insulation and ventilation systems
  • Renewable energy
  • Green energy supplies
  • Energy efficiency appliances
  • Double-glazing windows


  • Working with local community
  • Mission-based activities
  • Educational programs


  • Recycling areas


  • Water savers in showers
  • Water savers in toilet

Sustainability labels

Recently Viewed

YHA Queenstown Central